British Wildlife Photography Awards 2011

Building on the buzz created around the badger vaccination story published in BBC Wildlife Magazine earlier this month, I’m really pleased to announce that another of my conservation portfolios has won the documentary category in the British Wildlife Photography Awards. Six shots entitled It’s Only a Game from my country shoot portfolio will be exhibited at the WildlifeXpo event at Alexandra Palace in London from the 14th of October. They will then tour the country as part of the BWPA exhibition over the coming year – find out where you can catch the exhibition by going to the exhibitions page of the BWPA website.

Winning this category is made all the more rewarding when thinking how I photographed the story. I challenged myself to photograph for the day’s shoot in reportage/documentary style with only one camera body and a fixed 50mm lens set on fully manual settings. This was a challenge I set myself as a break from typical long-lens wildlife photography and to fine-tune my skills as a photojournalist. The skills used to get these shots have helped me shoot subsequent stories, such as my African wild dog book Underdogs.

The category win builds on my commended white-tailed eagle image in the 2010 competition. You can view a more comprehensive edit of the country shoot portfolio in the ‘stories‘ section of my main website. Or you could support the competition by finding the portfolio in the latest BWPA book ‘Collection 2‘.

Visit my main website at www.conservationphotojournalism.com

6 Responses to “British Wildlife Photography Awards 2011”

  1. Well done Neil. Stunning documentary.
    Doug (Cat and bird photo, BWPA 2011)

    • neilaldridge Says:

      Thanks Doug. I seriously love the shot of the cat. And I know I’m not alone there. See you at the Expo for the awards?

  2. My wife and I will try and be there for sure…
    Cheers.
    Doug

  3. Hi,

    I read your post, i really appreciate your experience and i will get good knowledge from their as well.

  4. […] with the new WildlifExpo event at London’s Alexandra Palace where I picked up an award at the 2011 British Wildlife Photography Awards ceremony for winning the Documentary Series category with my country shoot portfolio It’s […]

  5. […] and one of the world’s most recognisable brands interested in my work. This interview follows my success in the 2011 British Wildlife Photography Awards and also marks the announcement of the winners of […]

Leave a Reply

